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Match Calvisano Vs Cardiff Blues 
Club’s Country Wales Competition EPCR 
Date of match 16 November 2019 Match venue Calvisano 
Rules to apply EPCR Disciplinary Rules 2019/20 

   

PARTICULARS OF OFFENCE 

 
Player’s surname Millard Date of birth  
Forename(s) Harri Plea Admitted ☐  Not Admitted ☒ 

Club name Cardiff Blues 

SELECT:    Red card ☐    Citing ☒    Other (specify) ☐ 

Offence 9.11 Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangers to others 

Summary of Sanction Citing dismissed 

  

HEARING DETAILS 

 
Hearing date 20 November 2019 Hearing venue Bird & Bird, London 

Chairman/JO Samantha Hillas (Eng) Panel member 1 Donal Courtney (Ire) 

Panel member 2 Yannick Jauzion (Fr) Disciplinary Officer Liam McTiernan 

Appearance Player Yes ☒            No ☐    Appearance Club Yes ☒            No ☐    

 

Player’s Representative(s):          Other attendees: 

Richard Locke – solicitor for the Player Gafyn Cooper – Rugby Operations Manager, Cardiff Blues 
Maria Gyolcsols – EPCR disciplinary secretary 

 

List of documents/materials provided to player in advance of hearing: 

• Citing Report Mihai Irimia 18.11.19 

• Statement from Craig Maxwell-Keys, Match Referee 18.11.19 

• Statement from Adam Leal, Assistant Referee 18.11.19 

• Statement from Phil Watters, Assistant Referee 18.11.19 

• Photograph of Kayle van Zyl, Calvisano player 

• Audio recording of an interview with Kayle van Zyl, Calvisano player 
 

 

SUMMARY OF ESSENTIAL ELEMENTS OF CITING/REFEREE’S REPORT/FOOTAGE 

 

The following is taken from the citing report: 

“At 05:56 running time in the second half, Cardiff Blues were attacking in the close proximity of Calvisano's 22m line. Cardiff No. 9 
collects the ball from a 22m mid-line ruck, opens to Cardiff No. 10, who passes the ball to Cardiff No. 15. A tackle is made by 
Calvisano No. 15 - Kayle Van Zyl, against Cardiff No. 15, both players going to ground. The legs of Calvisano No. 15 seem to be a 
little trapped under the tackled player, with his upper body slighted lifted and trying to move away/get up from the tackle area.  
Cardiff No. 11 - Harri Millard stops running towards Calvisano's 22m line and turns back to the tackle area. Having a clear line of 
site towards the tackle zone, Cardiff No. 11 comes into the tackle area by lifting his right foot over Calvisano No. 15. His right boot 
hits the face of Calvisano No. 15, who's head violently swings back and reaches the ground. Calvisano No. 15 is then seen as he 
reaches with his left hand towards the area where he was hit and then gets up and resumes play. No medical assistance was 
required, at this point…I am of the opinion that Cardiff's No. 11 chose to make an unnecessary technical movement, taking into 
consideration the available space and the fact that he was in a good position to join the tackle area legally, without taking the 
unnecessary & significant risk of hitting & injuring the players on the ground, by lifting his right foot in that energetic manner, 
resulting in hitting the tackler in the head. Also, after going to ground, the position & level of Calvisano No. 15 doesn't change 
significantly, as to generate an issue of calibration for Cardiff's No. 11 action in terms of taking all precautions in his movement as 
to avoid contact with the tackler's head. 
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Consequently, based on the video evidence that was available to me and also the concise statement of Kayle Van Zyl, I am of the 
opinion that these actions merited a Red Card and accordingly, I cite Cardiff No. 11 (Harri Millard) for actions that resulted in 
contact between his foot and Calvisano's No. 15 head, contrary to Law 9.11.” 
 
The Panel viewed the footage provided which shows the incident from two opposite angles.   The footage reflects the factual 
description of the incident set out in the citing report, namely that the frame at 10 seconds shows the Player with his back to the 
camera coming into the ruck relatively side-on. The Player steps over the legs of his teammate who has been tackled to the ground 
and plants his foot square, so as to enter ‘through the gate’.  The frame at 11 seconds shows that as the Player is stepping over, 
Calvisano No.15 lifts his head, the Player’s boot connects and the Calvisano No.15’s head recoils.  At 12 seconds, the left hand of 
the Calvisano player come up to his face.  At 13 seconds, the Calvisano player rolls on to his left elbow to prop himself up.  He then 
rolls away towards the direction of play with his hands on his face and gets onto his hands and knees.    
 
Very brief statements were provided by the referee (Craig Maxwell-Keys), AR1 (Adam Leal) and AR2 (Phil Watters).  None of them 
saw the incident live or had anything further to add to the citing report. 

 
 
 

 

ESSENTIAL ELEMENTS OF OTHER EVIDENCE (e.g. medical reports) 

 

There was no medical evidence. 
 
The Panel viewed a photograph of Calvisano No.15’s injury.  It looks like a graze caused by a stud and is located on the far side of 
his left cheek, close to his ear. 
 
The Panel also listened to an audio file which was the citing commissioner’s short interview with Calvisano No.15.  This was 
transcribed in the citing commissioner’s report as follows:  "I was defending, made a tackle, went over to their side and I just felt a 
boot against my head. I couldn't say whether it was a swinging leg or not, but I just felt a boot on the left side of my face and a 
scratch. I felt there was some blood, but I carried on playing. I felt like something that swung, I didn't feel too much pressure, but 
we were all moving, so I couldn't really tell. I went down and I was down for maybe 5 seconds, I felt the blood but I carried on 
playing." 

 

SUMMARY OF PLAYER’S EVIDENCE 

 

The Player talked the Panel through the video footage.  Explaining why he lifted his leg, he said that he was readjusting his position 
to come back through the gate and to step over the players on the ground.  He saw the tackled (Cardiff) player and as a result of 
that, he lifted his leg up and over.  He said that the contact with the Calvisano player was accidental.  He confirmed he was sorry 
for the contact but reiterated that it was entirely accidental.  It was further submitted on the Player’s behalf that the referee was 
positioned close to the incident but recalled nothing of note, nor was there any reaction from any other player at the time. 

  

FINDINGS OF FACT 
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The Player does not accept that he committed the act of foul play set out in the citing report and does not accept that it warranted 

a red card. Accordingly, and pursuant to clause 7.8.11 of the Disciplinary Rules, Mr McTiernan has the burden of proving that the 

Player committed the act of foul play. 

 

The Panel were mindful that charge against the Player is that he acted contrary to 9.11, namely that players must not do anything 

that is reckless or dangerous to others.  The charge was not that the Player was in breach of 9.12 i.e. physical abuse including 

kicking. In the Panel’s view, there is nothing in the citing report to suggest that it was alleged the Player acted intentionally.  This 

was clarified in the submissions on behalf of the EPCR that, essentially, given the evidence of the player and the contents of the 

citing report, the issue for determination by the Panel was whether the Player’s actions were reckless or whether the incident 

referred to in the citing report was accidental. 

 

The Panel were referred to two relevant cases:  Flannery 3 March 2010 (a Six Nations appeal decision) and Leo 2 May 2013 (a first 

instance Amlin Challenge Cup decision).  In Flannery, the appeal panel said at paragraph 13 of the judgment: 

 

“The Law relating to kicking an opponent (Law 10(4)(c)) does not include a requirement for mens rea. It simply prohibits a player 

from kicking an opponent.  However, when a Disciplinary Committee considers whether to sanction a player for an act of foul play 

an assessment of his intent at the time of the offending is important. If the act is entirely accidental then no offence has been 

committed and there is no sanction. If the act was not accidental the Disciplinary Committee must decide whether it was 

intentional (that is deliberate) or reckless. There is no separate classification of intent under the description of carelessness – an act 

which is careless and mistimed (to use the description of the offence used by Mr Barriscale) may be reckless in the context of rugby. 

That is, by being careless in mistiming his kick, the player may have known or should have known that there was a risk of 

committing an act of foul play. It would be a matter for the Disciplinary Committee to decide whether a careless act amounted to 

recklessness or was merely accidental within the context of rugby.” 

 

In Leo, the independent judicial offer said at paragraph 21: 

 

“The Disciplinary Officer referred to the standard of proof the Judicial Officer would have to be satisfied of if he was to uphold the 

citing. In his view the critical issue was whether the contact was accidental which he noted was not defined in the DR. However in 

his view it was essentially doing an act where a player does not know and it cannot be said that he should have known (i.e. it was 

reasonable for him not to have known) that there was a risk of foul play occurring.” 

 

Upon viewing the video footage, the transcript of the interview with the injured player, considering the contents of the citing 

report, hearing submissions from Mr McTiernan and Mr Locke and hearing the evidence of the Player, the Panel finds as follows:- 

 

1. The Panel agrees there is no suggestion of an intentional act on the part of the Player. 

2. The video footage supports the evidence from and submissions on behalf of the Player that by taking a step over, he was 

attempting to achieve three things: 

a. as he was entering the ruck relatively side-on, he wanted to ensure that his position was adjusted so that he 

entered ‘through the gate’;  

b. to ensure that he did not stand on either of the players on the ground; and  

c. to ensure his foot was firmly placed to brace himself for challenge in the ruck.   

3. The step over was in one fluid motion which took a split second in a fast-moving game. 

4. As the Player was stepping over, the Calvisano player lifted his head; 

5. A combination of those factors resulted in a glancing blow from the Player’s boot to the side of the Calvisano No.15’s 

face.   

6. The Panel do not find that the action was reckless, in that the Player did not and could not know that the Calvisano player 

would lift his head at exactly the same time as he was stepping over. 

7. The incident occurred accidentally. 

As a result of the Panel’s finding that this was an accident, there is no foul play and the citing is dismissed. 

 

 

DECISION 
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Breach admitted ☐            Proven  ☐        Not proven ☒    Other disposal (please state below)  ☐ 

The citing was dismissed. 
 
 

SANCTIONING 

PROCESS 
 

 

ASSESSMENT OF SERIOUSNESS 

 
 

Assessment of Intent – R 7.8.32 (a)-(b)  

PLEASE TICK APPROPRIATE BOX                    Intentional/deliberate ☐    Reckless ☐ 

State reasons  

 

Gravity of player’s actions – R 7.8.32 (c)  

 

Nature of actions – R 7.8.32  (d)  

 

Existence of provocation – R 7.8.32 (e)  

 

Whether player retaliated – R 7.8.32 (f)  

 

Self-defence – R 7.8.32 (g)  

 

Effect on victim – R 7.8.32 (h)  

 

Effect on match – R 7.8.32 (i)  

 

Vulnerability of victim – R 7.8.32 (j) 

 

Level of participation/premeditation – R 7.8.32 (k)  

 

Conduct completed/attempted – R 7.8.32 (l) 
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Other features of player’s conduct – R 7.8.32 (m)  

 

 

ASSESSMENT OF SERIOUSNESS CONTINUED 

 

Entry point  

Top end*                       Weeks 

 ☐ 

Mid-range                        Weeks 

 ☐ 

Low-end                         Weeks 

  ☐ 

 

*If Top End, the JO or Panel should identify, if appropriate, an entry point between the Top End and the maximum 

sanction and provide the reasons for selecting this entry point, below. 

In making this assessment, the JO/Committee should consider World Rugby Regulations 17.19.2(a), 17.19.2(h), and 

17.19.2(i) or the equivalent provisions within the Tournament Rules referred to above. 

Reasons for selecting Entry Point above Top End 

 

 

ADDITIONAL RELEVANT OFF-FIELD AGGRAVATING FACTORS 

 
Player’s status as an offender of the Laws of the Game – R 7.8.34 (a)  

 

Need for deterrence – R 7.8.34 (b)  

 

Any other off-field aggravating factors – R 7.8.34 (c)  
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Number of additional weeks:   

RELEVANT OFF-FIELD MITIGATING FACTORS 

 

Acknowledgement of guilt and timing – R 7.8.35(a)  Player’s disciplinary record/good character – R7.8.35 (b)  

  

Youth and inexperience of player – R 7.8.35 (c)  Conduct prior to and at hearing – R 7.8.35 (d)  

  

Remorse and timing of remorse – R 7.8.35 (e)  Other off-field mitigation – R 7.8.35 (f)  

  

 
Number of weeks deducted:               

 

 

Summary of reason for number of weeks deducted: 

 

 

SANCTION 

 

NOTE: PLAYERS ORDERED OFF ARE PROVISIONALLY SUSPENDED PENDING THE HEARING OF THEIR CASE, 

SUCH SUSPENSION SHOULD BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN SANCTIONING – R 7.2.5 

 

Total sanction (weeks) 0                             
 

Sending off sufficient ☐ 

 

 

Sanction commences 

 

 
Costs 

 
 

Sanction concludes  

 

 
 

 

Free to play 
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Signature  
(JO or Chairman) 

 

 
SAMANTHA HILLAS Date 

 
20 NOVEMBER 2019 

 

NOTE:  YOU HAVE THE RIGHT OF APPEAL AGAINST THIS DECISION AS SET OUT IN REGULATION 8.1 AND 8.2 OF 

THE EPCR DISCIPLINARY REGULATIONS. YOUR ATTENTION IS SPECIFICALLY DRAWN TO THE TIME LIMIT AND 

DIRECTIONS/REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO AN APPEAL SET OUT IN REGULATION 8.2.1 TO 8.2.4 OF THE 

REGULATIONS 


